Glossary of Education

Home > Glossary > Core Subjects

Core Subjects

The core subjects, also known as the "New Basics" is a termed used by A Nation at Risk, a significant report published by the National Commission on Excellence in Education on the American education system in 1983. The authors of the report recommended that schools should require high school graduate candidates to complete a specified amount of core subject learning: 4 units of English; 3 units each of science, social studies, and mathematics; and 0.5 units of computer science. This term also refers to the "core academic subjects" defined under the No Child Left Behind Act: English, reading, or language arts, mathematics, science, foreign languages, civics and government, economics, arts, history, and geography.
Not what you're looking for?

Questions about "Core Subjects"

Showing 1-5 of 17