By Razorbill/Penguin

Reviewed for First Grade, 2010

Frannie Miller, otherwise known as Frankly, wants a job badly. But it's not as easy as one might think to get hired. She's made business cards out of an old carton, polished her resume to perfection, and requested a personal assistant for Christmas, but for some reason, no one is hiring first graders. When her class takes a field trip to the local radio station and Frannie finds a DJ booth unmanned, she picks up the ringing phone, ready to come to the rescue. But her plan doesn't go quite as she intended! Fans of Judy Moody and Junie B. Jones will like this new kid on the early chapter book scene, who finds trouble, just when she's doing her best to grow up. ($4.99, Penguin).