Browse All Arkansas Schools

Arkansas Academic Standards Overview Page

What are the Arkansas Academic Standards?

The framework is designed to facilitate learning from grade to grade The design of this revision allows third grade teachers to readily see what second and fourth graders must master, a fifth grade teacher to readily see what fourth and sixth graders must master, etc. Revision of each of the Arkansas Curriculum Frameworks every six years is required by the state education reform initiatives mandated by the State Board of Education. All curriculum framework documents result from the work of a committee of Arkansas educators representing every facet of Arkansas education, including geographic region, grade, school size and fiscal status, gender, ethnicity, and education experience.

The goal of the committee was to develop a framework that is rigorous, specific to grade levels, and congruent and progressive from grade level to grade level.

Example of an Arkansas Academic Standard: Fourth Grade English Language Arts

Categorizing ideas, organizing them into paragraphs, and blending paragraphs into larger units of text.

How do I find the Arkansas Department of Education Academic Standards?

Arkansas curriculum frameworks are available for kindergarten through twelth grade for Language Arts, Fine Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Foreign Language, and Physical Education and Health.

  • Click the subject you wish to view
  • Click the grade you wish to view

The SLEs that indicate progression in a particular grade cluster (K-4, 5-8, 9-12) are aligned from column to column. The numbering of SLEs is strictly for record keeping purposes. The expectations are not intended to be taught from 1 forward, but rather to be taught in harmony with other appropriate SLEs in any sequence. If a SLE is not aligned with a SLE in another column, students must fully master the expectation at that grade.