Browse All Florida Schools

State of Florida Academic Standards Overview Page

What are the Florida Academic Standards?

The Sunshine State Standards were approved by the State Board of Education in 1996 to provide expectations for student achievement in Florida. The Standards approved in 1996 were written in seven subject areas, each divided into four separate grade clusters (PreK-2, 3-5, 6-8, and 9-12). This format was chosen to provide flexibility to school districts in designing curriculum based on local needs. However, as Florida moves toward greater accountability for student achievement at each grade level, the Sunshine State Standards have been further defined. In the subject areas of language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies, the Sunshine State Standards have been expanded to include Grade Level Expectations. These Grade Level Expectations will eventually become the basis for state assessments at each grade 3-10 in language arts and mathematics--and may eventually be used in state assessments in science and social studies.

Example of an Academic Standard: First Grade Mathematics 

Number Sense, Concepts, and Operations: Use one-to-one correspondence to count objects to 100 or more.


Where do I Find the State of Florida Academic Standards and Grade Level Expectations?

  • Choose a subject and grade level, and click the corresponding green bullet to download the appropriate PDF standards document.

Standards are available from the Florida Department of Education for grades PreK-12 in the following subjects:

  • Arts

  • Foreign Languages

  • Health

  • Language Arts

  • Mathematics

  • Physical Education

  • Science

  • Social Studies