Browse All Wisconsin Schools

State of Wisconsin Model Academic Standards Overiew Page

What are the Wisconsin Model Academic Standards?

Academic standards specify what students should know and be able to do, what they might be asked to do to give evidence of standards, and how well they must perform. They include content, performance, and proficiency standards.

Example Model Academic Standard: Grade 12 Writing

Create or produce writing to communicate with different audiences for a variety of purposes.

  • Write a coherent argument that takes a position, accurately summarizes an opposing position, refutes that position, and cites persuasive evidence

How do I Find the Model Academic Standards? 

Standards are available from the Wisconsin Department of Education for grades 4, 8, 12 in the following core subjects:

  • English Language Arts

  • Mathematics

  • Science

  • Social Studies

Other Wisconsin Model Academic Standards available are:

  • Agricultural Education

  • Art and Design Education

  • Business

  • Dance

  • Environmental Education

  • Family and Consumer Education

  • Foreign Languages

  • Health Education

  • Information and Technology Literacy

  • Marketing Education

  • Music Education

  • Personal Financial Literacy

  • Physical Education

  • Technology Education
  • Theatre Education

  • From the sidebar on the left of the page, choose the subject you wish to view.
  • Scroll down the subject page to choose a content or performance standard for grades 4, 8, or 12.