Key Features of the Reading Process

By — Pearson Allyn Bacon Prentice Hall
Updated on Jul 20, 2010

There are 5 stages in the reading process: prereading, reading, responding, exploring, and applying. The following list outlines the key features of each stage.

Stage 1: Prereading

  • Activate or build background knowledge and related vocabulary.
  • Set purposes.
  • Introduce key vocabulary words.
  • Make predictions.
  • Preview the text.

Stage 2: Reading

  • Read independently, with a buddy, or using shared or guided reading, or listen to the text read aloud.
  • Apply reading strategies and skills.
  • Examine illustrations, charts, and diagrams.
  • Read the text from beginning to end.
  • Read one or more sections of text to learn specific information.
  • Take notes.

Stage 3: Responding

  • Write in reading logs.
  • Participate in grand conversations or other discussions.

Stage 4: Exploring

  • Reread all or part of the text.
  • Learn new vocabulary words.
  • Participate in minilessons on reading strategies and skills.
  • Examine the author's craft.
  • Identify memorable quotes.

Stage 5: Applying

  • Construct projects.
  • Read related books.
  • Use information in thematic units.
  • Evaluate the reading experience.
Add your own comment
DIY Worksheets
Make puzzles and printables that are educational, personal, and fun!
Matching Lists
Quickly create fun match-up worksheets using your own words.
Word Searches
Use your own word lists to create and print custom word searches.
Crossword Puzzles
Make custom crossword puzzles using your own words and clues.